You might mistakenly believe that when your brand new vehicle has had repairs made under warranty for “free,” there is no violation of the law no matter how inconvenient, troubling, or severe your experience is. You’re stuck wondering, “what’s going to go wrong next, or how long will I be without my car this time?” You feel trapped with a Lemon and think that you have to just grit your teeth and bear it despite not getting the NEW CAR VALUE you PAID FOR and DESERVE.
Fortunately, the California Lemon Law says otherwise and gives you the ability to get RID OF and BANISH your “Lemon” vehicle once and for all! The California Lemon Law also entitles you to have ATTORNEYS’ FEES PAID by the company that built your defective vehicle so you don’t have to go up against the company alone. California’s Lemon Law protects consumers whose vehicle’s use, value and/or safety have been negatively affected by the car’s defects.
You are entitled to Lemon Law protection when the number of repairs you have to deal with is unreasonable or the time your vehicle has been in the repair shop is untimely.
Lemon Law presumptions are repair and days out of service standards written into California Law as a “guidepost” of what is the enough is enough point when seeking to repair a motor vehicle. Beyond that point it is legally presumed (or assumed) that the repair history is unreasonable. It is presumed that a manufacturer has had a reasonable opportunity to repair your vehicle when there have been four or more repairs for the same issue (at least two repair attempts if the problem is likely to cause injury or death), or if the vehicle has been out of service for 30 or more days as a result of the repairs (regardless of whether the issue is the same) within the earlier of the first 18 months or 18,000 miles of ownership.
The Lemon Law presumptions apply in two separate ways: If there are four or more repairs for the same problem in your vehicle a California Lemon Law presumption applies even if there are only four days in the repair shop. For a problem that could cause injury or death, you get the benefit of the presumption if there are two repair attempts, even if the repairs only took 2 days. If you have a repair that takes 30 or more days, then it doesn’t matter that there has only been one repair. You still get the benefit of the Lemon Law presumption.
However, the repair attempts and time out standards are just legal presumptions (basically yardsticks) written to help consumers, they are not a barrier to a recovery for valid claim. You may still have a valid Lemon Law case even if your vehicle does not have this number of repairs or time out of service if the overall repair history of your car is unreasonable during the time it is covered by warranty. Please submit the information requested in our FREE CASE REVIEW page and we can let you know if your vehicle is covered by the California Lemon Law.
If your vehicle qualifies for California Lemon Law protection, you may be entitled to either a Refund (minus a reasonable usage fee) or a New Replacement Vehicle (minus usage) for your “Lemon.” You are also entitled to recover attorneys’ fees from the manufacturer for our representation under the California Lemon Law if your case settles so we do not ever charge you any attorneys’ fees for out of court representation and 95% of our cases are resolved out of court. A Repurchase, Replacement, or Cash Compensation and having your attorneys’ fees paid by the car company are all options available to you regardless of whether the repairs were “free” under your vehicle’s warranty. With that being said, we must warn you that the most common reason the Lemon Law would not apply to your vehicle is if the claim is timed out so please do not miss out on your Lemon Law rights to a Refund or New Car by waiting. Contact us today!
If you feel like you’ve suffered enough aggravation from your “Lemon” and that you deserve the compensation the law entitles you to, please submit the vehicle information requested in our FREE CASE REVIEW page and we will get back in touch with you regarding your vehicle situation within one business day at the latest.